Day 1 (100 Day Challenge) Forgiveness

“To forgive is to set a prisoner free and discover that the prisoner was you.” – Lewis B. Smedes

“It’s easier to forgive an enemy than to forgive a friend.” – William Blake

“Forgiveness is me giving up my right to hurt you for hurting me” – Anonymous

I chose forgiveness because I am mad at a particular person. This person was my best friend and we talked about everything. I opened up myself more to this person than I have to anyone. This person just shut me out of his life. It felt like I was standing in an archway and the door slammed in my face, not only did the door slam in my face but I stayed at the door. Yes, I stayed and pleaded out to this person and the person disregarded that. After days of pleading and trying to reach out to this person I gave up. I have to see this person five days a week, luckily I do not have to interact with this person. But I am holding on to the anger I have for this person. Because I believe this person should hurt the same way I hurt. Only God knows how much I am truly hurt, only God. To move on, I need to forgive this person and myself. I need to forgive him, because he obviously going through something that I just cannot phantom. I need to forgive myself for wanting to hurt and punish this person because this person helps to me to bring out the worst me. The me that wants him to crumble and grabble at my feet. These are characteristics I do not want to show of myself. I have to give up my right to hurt him for hurting me. It’s hard and it feels strange, but I think I have made a big step forward.

Leave a Reply

