Career Rant

I love working in “sex” work, meaning HIV and STD prevention work.  I just do not want to be stuck doing paper work and data entry.  My job has turned into many jobs, like a lot of others in my field.  I just don’t like it anymore.  I use to think being unhappy with my job was wrong.  Many of my family members have jobs to support them and they think I am just whining.  I don’t want a job though I want a career.  To me a job is an extension of yourself.  By all means if you love cleaning the streets if New York, that’s what you love doing.  I am trying to justify why I believe a job is an extension of ones self and I don’t have to.  My job is an extension of me, period.  It’s time for me to get out of my comfort zone and try something new.  I worry that I don’t have any experience or true talents, but I can’t worry about that any more.  I have to make myself uncomfortable and change.

4 responses to “Career Rant

  1. Eek, switching jobs is always daunting, but I’m sure it’ll be worth it. Good luck!!

  2. Good luck… I’ve been trying to make this jump for a while. Hopefully soon!

  3. Work is an extension of yourself because it’s what most of us give the majority of life to. What else do you spend 40 hours a week doing? If you also have a strong work ethic it makes a meaningless job even more difficult to bare, because it’s hard to give part of yourself to something non-deserving. One thing you can try to obtain a career is sustain employment. If there’s any chance of advancement in your current job the best way to move up is to stick it out. A lot of careers come to those who make them. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

