Listening- Day 1

It has come up a lot.  Listening is a major part of my job. But along the way I lost effective listening outside of HIV Prevention Counseling and Testing.  When in conversations with friends it’s mostly about me.  Everything relates back to me.  I have to give that up and realize listening to people is not self sacrificing my own opinions and attributes.  Listening  is telling the person i understand them and I care about what they are saying. 

I decided to start my 100 Day Challenge Season 2 today.

“We have two ears and only one tongue in order that we may hear more and speak less.”
Diogenes Laertius

One response to “Listening- Day 1

  1. Great post! I don’t mean to sound negative or anything but when reading this I thought about my friend who kind of does the same thing. She always bring the conversation back to her… I’m accustomed to it now, like I rarely talk about me anymore, but you are write, we were given 2 ears and only 1 tongue!

Leave a Reply

