Does marriage equal domestic goddess?

Does marriage means the woman have to become domestic? I have several friends who are recently married and they have become domestic.  Another friend who has been married for almost ten years says that a percentage of give and take is never fifty-fifty.  Sometimes it might be twenty eighty or forty sixty. 

I don’t think being a home maker is a problem or degrading, but I don’t think it’s me.  I don’t like eating my own cooking.  I would rather take out the trash than wash the dishes.  I over cook stews in crock pots for crying out loud.

But my friends seem to turn into Stepford wives on me.  ‘ I have to make it home to cook dinner for my husband.’ Or ‘I’m making a cake for my husband’s office.”  I simply cannot be possessed by Brie Van Da Camp.

I don’t know what I am going to do.  I don’t want to dote on a man and cook for him.  I don’t want to keep house.  I have work and things I want to get done. 

What do you guys think?  Does marriage make women domestic?

2 responses to “Does marriage equal domestic goddess?

  1. Honestly…my take on it:
    When I was younger I felt that I would never want to cook for a man, or do house work. But as I’m getting older, I want to do those things. I want to be an amazing cook, I want to have a clean kitchen. That doesn’t mean I want a man who sits on his ass drinking beer LOL he’s gotta take care of the home front just like me but doing different things. I think when you are with someone, and you are building a home it has to be a give and take from both sides. Maybe not 50/50 all the time, maybe you’ll give more or less and he’ll do the same at times…but you have to keep your home running 🙂

  2. I think that in a marriage each person does what they’re good at. I like my food edible and my sheets clean and I am able to dothose things better than my hubby. But he is better at washing the car an changing the litter box. But there are times where he cooks and I change the litter box, it really is 50/50 and I think as women mature they do become a little more domestic. Now I could not live in a house that was as messy as my room was when I was a teenager, you grow out of it. Maybe you’re just not there yet. If you can’t afford a full tim housekeeper and your husband works too someone’s gotta do the chores and you can eat out everynight but that tends t get exspensive. All I’m saying is marry a chef so I can come over for dinner :-)!

Leave a Reply

